Friend

We are all human. Humans are social creatures. We all need a friend.

Friendship isn’t about whom you’ve known the longest, but it’s about who came and never left your side.

I’ve recently had to deal with a broken friendship. It turned sour and eventually became toxic. Sometimes I didn’t like what he did for me, sometimes he didn’t like what I did for him. We couldn’t appreciate what the other party did for us. Finally he had enough and left.

The painful moment was not the break but the aftermath, when I realised that I had lost a friendship that I thought we both held close. It turned out it was one sided.

I’ve realised that sometimes things won’t work out in the end like they always say. Not everything has a happy ending. Losing a friend, the guy I thought I knew best, the guy that I had allowed inside the walls I’ve built up around myself. It was painful. It really hurt because this relationship was genuine to me.

I’m not mad at him for leaving, because I was at fault too. In fact, I’m not going to try to forget him, I will forever cherish those memories that we made together, those late night phone calls, and those impromptu meals and talking about absolutely anything in the world.

My friend, if you’re reading this, I want to say I’m sorry for whatever has happened. I wish you all the best. Thank you, for all you’ve done all these years and for trying to make me a better person. I’ll miss you, and all the memories and moments we’ve made together. Goodbye, and I hope you’ll find someone better.

